Austin Comedy V : Skylark Lounge Open Mic

 

I went out to Skylark Lounge last night to do the open mic, and I had a great time! It’s my third time going back up in a “stand up” setting since deciding to give comedy another shot.

I had frequented Skylark about a year ago and up until I took the second hiatus (around last October).

 I chose to go back because a good comic friend of mine suggested I go ( he reminded me that it was one of the mics I could just “chill” at, because everyone is cool and it’s a chill place) and I was wanting to try out the new “voice” again, so, why not?

Overall, I had a really good time!

-

Skylark Lounge is a great bar with a really friendly staff.

They’ve re-done their stage area and the atmosphere is very laid back and comfortable!

-

-

abe 2

-

-

Now, there seems to be some confusion as to what this boastful post means, so I will clarify:

The way I feel I perform is NOT the same as what the audience or other comics say/think, it’s simply how I perform. A “good performance” doesn’t necessarily mean I was hilarious, it doesn’t necessarily mean everyone was howling at every bit, it doesn’t necessarily mean that everyone understands the “character,” nor does it have anything to do with how “good” I am as a comic.

It has to do with how -I – feel I performed. It has to do with how – I – feel while I’m on stage and walking off. It has to do with my preparation. It has to do with my delivery – even if people don’t quite understand the “punchline.” It has to do with being able to organize my thoughts enough to feel somewhat composed and controlled on stage. It was to do with holding everyone’s attention for the entire set.

-

It has to do with being proud of my “work” for the first time in 2 years.

-

-

That’s all.

-

-

I went outside to the patio right after my set

and took out my notebook to write the notes I needed to from the set, smoke a bowl and just take in how good I felt and how fucking great it felt being on stage again. It really didn’t matter what others thought of the set or of me as a person/comic, I felt good and going up and being at an open mic made me feel good. I’ve been waiting to have these genuine feelings about comedy and stand up for a long time, and I was simply enjoying all the good “feels” it was finally bringing me.

-

I was meeting a friend after the mic,

so I went back inside to gather my things. Abe was on stage introducing another comics, no big whoop,

but I suddenly hear something that made my ears perk up:

-

“..she calls me out on Facebook as her weed dealer…”

-

something, something…

-

“responsible dad”

-

-

-

Aw, HELL NAW!

-

-

-

For those of you who don’t know the history:

Abe used to be one of my dealers (Marijuana). About a year ago I was stupid and tagged him as my dealer on a post on Facebook. He politely told me to take it down and I TOTALLY understood my stupidity as I took it down immediately. All is good, right?

Well, apparently not. About 2 months ago, Abe hopped onto various comment threads I had been participating in and would being up this “Facebook Faux Pas” in attempts to discredit my intelligence and/or common sense…I guess, who knows?

Honestly, I was always confused why someone who was obviously upset about me outing him (a “responsible father,” as he likes to call himself) publicly on Facebook, would keep on publicly admitting to his Marijuana Dealer past just to tell everyone how stupid I was for calling him out as a dealer on….Facebook?

What?

Whatever. Stupid Facebook stuff, right?

 I eventually ignored it.

I figured he was just in a pissy mood from whatever I was saying that day and threw out the one thing he thought he had against me and that he’d get over it. Happens all the time with comics/people.

NBD. Right?

-

STUPID KATE!!!

 

Abe1

Text:

Kate Loice:

So, hey!

If you’re an open mic host who doesn’t like people interrupting the show, here’s a suggestion for ya: don’t randomly bring up personal crap you have with a comic while attempting to introduce a totally different performer, especially when the outspoken bitch you’re talkin’ shit about is standing right there!

And to any comics who don’t like people interrupting their introductions, please direct your frustrations towards the host who thinks a story about how he’s a “responsible ex-drug dealing father” is an appropriate way to set the setting for your time.

Have some God damn respect for yourself, Father Of The Year.

 

Abe Dashner

(Host of Skylark Lounge Open-Mic, Monday’s @ 9)

(Responsible Dad)

thanks for the lecture! and thanks for lecturing the audience last night! and thanks for the constant lectures on facebook! that seems to be your only mode of communication, so thanks!

seriously, fuck you and your “perfect victim” routine.

you’re a grown woman- not only are you able to accept the first ounce of responsibility for the circumstances of your life, people kind of expect it.

i suspected after reading your yelp review of the bra store that you’re willing to stoop to baldfaced lying to get your way, now looking at your status immediately below i’m sure of it.

your bit about only child syndrome was actually a little bit funny, only because it’s so true.

you’re the single meanest person i’ve ever encountered in my life,

which ain’t no little feat.

-

(And, just wait, it gets even better! )

-

if somebody were to ask me, i’d say you need to quit biting the dicks that feed you.

-

-

And this,

ladies and gentlemen,

is yet another example of how the rational, mature and supportive Austin Comedy scene is run.

-

I’m sure many will support Abe’s classy decision to air dirty laundry while trash talking a comic who had performed at his mic while he introduced the one other female performing that night, but, I don’t see why any of that was necessary or appropriate.

-

Of course, I support people doing whatever they feel they need, even if it may not be “appropriate,” but you gotta know that if you’re going to be cowardly and pathetic enough to talk shit while you think I’m not around to hear it, I WILL speak up and “lecture” you.

-

I bite my fucking tongue so much when I’m at mics because I DO try to show some respect by not spewing every little thing I’m thinking or wanting to say. I actually do have some boundaries sometimes!

-

 I don’t say a word or boo when someone makes an entire bit about how women should be happy about getting date raped. I don’t say anything about your awful and sexist introduction. I don’t even stand around the people who I can tell I make uncomfortable. I find ways that makes my presence as quiet as possible while I’m not on stage or having a friendly conversation with another comic or audience member. I’m outspoken, I say what I want, when I want, but I don’t take pleasure in making others uncomfortable and I don’t take pleasure in taking anything away from the show or anyone’s experience.

-

If you decide to blatantly disrespect me, after I do all of that, with the bullshit you were trying to say while you thought I had already left -

you better strap in for a “lecture,” because

I do not tolerate being treated like that, EVER. 

I don’t care where we are.

-

-

-

I have EARNED (been branded with) my “Outspoken Bitch” label, don’t think I’m not going to use it, fool!